We Are The Brennans

Tracey Lange

Original publisher: Celadon BooksWomen's Fiction

Represented by Stephanie Cabot

An Instant New York Times Bestseller

A Good Morning America ‘Buzz Pick

In the same vein as J. Courtney Sullivan and Mary Beth Keane, We Are the Brennans explores the staying power of shame and loyalty in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.

When 30-year-old Sunday Brennan wakes up in a Los Angeles hospital, bruised and battered after a drunk driving accident she caused, she swallows her pride and goes home to her family. But it’s not easy. She deserted them all-and her high school sweetheart-six years ago with little explanation, and they’ve got questions. Still, Sunday is determined to rebuild her life in the suburbs of New York, even if it does mean tiptoeing around resentful brothers and an ex-fiancé.

When a dangerous man from her past brings her family’s pub business to the brink of financial ruin, the only way to protect them is to reveal the brutal assault that drove her away years ago. In the aftermath, they’re all forced to confront painful mistakes – and ultimately find a way forward, together.

Reviews

“A confident, polished debut novel.”—Liz Moore, The New York Times

“Lange portrays the Brennans with compassion and gritty realism, winning over readers from the beginning.” Publishers Weekly, featured in Summer Reads 2021

“Reading this novel is like getting a view through a lighted window on a family sitting around a table after dark. Who are they? What are they talking about? All families have their own story and the ways they tell it to themselves, and untangling the many strands of this one was deep and richly satisfying. Once I started, I couldn’t stop. I read it in one long delicious slide.” —Sarah Blake, author of The Guest Book

“In We Are the Brennans, Tracey Lange expertly captures the way one harrowing night can forever change a family. The Brennans are a tight-knit Irish family, carrying enough secrets to topple most families. Instead, Lange offers them a chance to heal, reminding us that it’s never too late to mend old wounds and that the things that tear us apart can ultimately put us back together. I devoured every page of this confident, accomplished debut.” —Amy Meyerson, author of The Bookshop of Yesterdays and The Imperfects

We Are the Brennans is firmly in the vein of Mary Beth Keane’s Ask Again, Yes and J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions… It’s a page-turner in the best way.”— Booklist

“Lange’s narrative perspectives are keenly realized, and she keeps all of the Brennans sizzling with humanity while they grapple with familial loyalty. Fans of intense family dramas are in for a treat.”—Publishers Weekly

“In the vein of Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest, We Are the Brennans explores the redemptive power of love in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.” — PureWow

“Lange’s richly layered debut…deftly examines the long shadow of family history and the bonds that cannot be broken.” —Booklist

“Lange skillfully contrasts the solace of family ties with the paralyzing burden of carrying secrets for too long. Her flawed but big-hearted Brennans will sneak under your skin.” — Star Tribune

“Tracey Lange has created some truly memorable characters and a wonderfully moving experience in seeing this tight-knit family cope with conflicts, setbacks, and the disclosure of long-buried secrets.” —American Booksellers Association, Indies Next August