Surrogate

Susan Spindler

300 pages manuscript in English Thriller

For fans of Apple Tree Yard, Surrogate is a compelling and topical psychological drama that explores marriage, fertility and female identity.

Beth Furnival is a successful television executive with a perfect life: a nice
house in London, a lawyer husband and two grown-up daughters. But at 55, with an empty nest and the menopause behind her, she feels restless and dissatisfied.

After multiple rounds of failed IVF, her eldest daughter Lauren has been told that the only chance for her and her husband to have their own child is surrogacy. Overwhelmed by the legal grey zones and expense, they are running out of options. So when Beth discovers that even at her age, with the right doses of hormones, she could carry their baby, out of desperation they agree.

As Beth’s unlikely pregnancy progresses, her life disintegrates around her: her husband moves out, her TV company is near bankruptcy and Lauren  can’t contain her corrosive envy. Isolated and suffering from complications, Beth starts to unravel, with life-threatening consequences…