Related Titles
We That Are Young

Related Authors
Preti Taneja

Preti Taneja’s We That Are Young wins the Desmond Elliott Prize!


We’re thrilled to say that Preti Taneja’s awe-inspiring We That Are Young has won the 2018 Desmond Elliott Prize!

Preti took home the £10,000 prize, along with high praise from the prize judges. Prize chair and author Sarah Perry said that after reading the novel, she and fellow judges, “sat together shaking our heads, saying, ‘If this is her first novel, what extraordinary work will come next?’”

Accepting the award, Preti said: “It is an honour to be standing here tonight and to receive this wonderful endorsement of We That Are Young…The honour doesn’t only belong to me but also to my wonderful editor, the visionary and completely obsessive Eloise Millar at Galley Beggar Press.” She also thanked her family, friends, and agent David Godwin, who she credited for keeping her “feet very steady”.

Dallas Manderson, the chairman of the prize’s trustees, praised We That Are Young as “exactly the kind of novel that the Desmond Elliott Prize exists to discover and promote…an extraordinarily accomplished debut…”

Rights to We That Are Young have sold in Denmark (Rebel With A Cause), France (Edition de l’Observertoire), Germany (Beck Verlag), India (Penguin India), Israel (Tamir-Sendik), and the US/North America (Knopf).

Congratulations to Preti, Galley Beggar Press, and David Godwin Associates!